Call Today for a Free Consultation


Fort Worth Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer

Tarrant County THC product defense attorney

Lawyer in Tarrant County Helping Clients Charged With Possession of Cannabis and THC Products

Have you been charged with the possession or delivery of marijuana or related products in Tarrant County? Our goal at The Dameron Law Firm in Fort Worth, TX is to get you the best possible outcome for your case. Marijuana offenses in the state of Texas are very serious crimes, and possession of marijuana is no exception. Possessing a usable amount of marijuana is at least a Class B misdemeanor offense under Texas law.

While marijuana is commonly used, and many states have legalized marijuana, Texas is very tough on drug crimes. The amount of marijuana in your possession at the time of arrest will affect the potential penalties and the classification of the offense as either a misdemeanor or felony charge. The larger the amount, the more serious consequences you will face. Consequences may include jail/prison time, large fines, a permanent conviction on your record, and the suspension of your driver's license.

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

If you are arrested for possession of marijuana, you could be facing some serious penalties. The punishment you receive depends on the amount/weight of the marijuana you are accused of possessing. Under the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, the typical penalties for possession are as follows:

  • Possession of paraphernalia – Class C misdemeanor, with up to a $500 fine
  • Possession of two ounces or less – Class B misdemeanor, up to 180 days in jail and a fine of $2,000
  • Possession of two to four ounces – Class A misdemeanor, up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine
  • Possession of between four ounces and five pounds – state jail felony, with a range of punishment between 180 days to two years in prison plus a $10,000 fine
  • Possession of five to 50 pounds – Third-degree felony, range of punishment of two to 10 years in prison and a fine of $10,000
  • Possession of between 50 and 2,000 pounds – Second-degree felony, range of punishment of two to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
  • Possession of more than 2,000 pounds – First-degree felony, range of punishment of five to 99 years and a $50,000 fine

Possession of THC Oil, Wax, and Concentrates

Possession and use of cannabis in the form of THC wax, hash oil, edibles, and concentrates has grown since marijuana has been legalized in many states. What can be purchased legally in some states such as Colorado, California, or Nevada would be considered a felony in Texas. With the exception of select few, low-level products that have been approved for medical use, almost all THC products are illegal in the state of Texas. In general, the law does not allow any amount of THC wax, oil, or concentrate to be in your possession. If you are arrested in Tarrant County for having these items in your possession, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Illegal substances are placed in certain penalty groups, and THC is listed in Penalty Group 2. You could face a state jail felony charge if you are arrested for possession of less than one gram of THC wax, oil, or concentrates in Texas; a third-degree felony charge for one to four grams; and a second-degree felony for four to 400 grams. Possession of any illegal drugs, including possession of even the smallest amount of THC oil in a vape pen, could result in a felony charge.

Just because you purchased THC wax, hash oil, edibles, or concentrates in a state that has legalized these substances does not mean you can bring it back to Texas. For example, purchasing marijuana legally in Colorado does not make that marijuana legal to possess in Texas. Even if you have a medical marijuana card issued from a state that has legalized the medical use of cannabis, this does not mean you can possess marijuana or THC products in Texas. Texas does have very limited exceptions to their drug laws to exempt patients who are prescribed medical marijuana.

Contact Our Office for a Free Consultation

If you are arrested for a marijuana-related offense, the most important thing you can do is contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. Our team has extensive experience defending misdemeanor and felony possession of marijuana charges. We possess the legal knowledge necessary to successfully defend your case. Do not gamble with your future. Contact our office today. Call 817-222-0624 for a free consultation.

Back to Top