Call Today for a Free Consultation


Five Things to Remember if Arrested for DWI

 Posted on October 26, 2021 in Uncategorized


First, a license hearing (separate from the criminal charges) must be requested within 15 days after your arrest to appeal your automatic license suspension. If your license hearing is not requested within 15 days your license will be automatically suspended by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Second, if your alcohol concentration is alleged to be 0.15 or higher you may be required to have the interlock installed on your vehicle as a condition of bond, even on a first time DWI arrest! If this is a subsequent DWI arrest, the interlock will be a condition of bond. If you do not have a vehicle the court may require you to have the in-home unit. The in-home unit is a portable alcohol monitoring device that requires you blow into it three times a day.

Third, did you know that Texas got rid of driver license surcharges, but now subjects individuals convicted of DWI to a superfine? The superfine amounts are crazy expensive! $3,000 for the first conviction within a 36-month period, $4,500 for a second or subsequent conviction within a 36-month period, and $6,000 for a first or subsequent conviction if it is shown on the trial of the offense that an analysis of a specimen of the person's blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed.

Fourth, if your license is suspended by the DPS or a court, you will need an occupational driver's license. An occupational license will allow you to drive legally while your license is suspended. Depending on the reason for the suspension, the interlock may be a condition of the occupational license.

Fifth, the four main requirements of a misdemeanor DWI probation include the following: a Driving While Intoxicated Education Course, Victim Impact Panel by MADD, a substance abuse evaluation (results may lead to additional programs), and community service. The Judge can set any reasonable conditions of probation including no alcohol.

If you have been arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) you need to contact the Dameron Law Firm immediately! Attorney Craig Dameron has been a license attorney since 2001 exclusively handling criminal defense cases including DWI.

Share this post:
Back to Top