Call Today for a Free Consultation


Legal Implications and Defense Strategies for a Third DWI 

 Posted on February 05, 2024 in DWI

Fort Worth Drunk Driving LawyerOver the weekend in Texas, an untold number of drivers were pulled over. Many were pulled over for blown taillights, and others for forgetting to turn on their blinker. Others, however, were pulled over for a far more insidious reason: driving while intoxicated (DWI). While being pulled over for your first DWI is bad enough, getting pulled over for a second or third DWI is even worse. If you are currently facing charges related to your second or third DWI, you need to act swiftly to ensure that you, from here on out, make decisions that support your best interests. In this case, hiring a knowledgeable and aggressive lawyer is absolutely in your best interest. 

Texas DWI Laws

In Texas, the law prohibits people from operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs. The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08 percent for those aged 21 and over. Also, remember that even if you blow below the legal threshold of 0.08 percent, you can still face DWI charges. If the police officer has reason to believe that whatever amount of alcohol you consumed is affecting your ability to drive, you can be charged for DWI. Moreover, even if you blow 0.00 percent but are under the influence of something like a prescription medication, 

you can be charged for DWI.

Felony Charges for a Third DWI Offense 

The penalties become significantly more severe when someone is arrested for a DWI offense with two prior convictions for DWI in Texas. A third DWI is classified as a third-degree felony, which carries the following potential consequences:

  • $10,000 fines

  • Imprisonment ranging from two to ten years

  • Suspension of driver’s license for up to two years

  • Installation of an ignition interlock device 

Legal Defense Options 

When facing a DWI charge, people have the right to explore legal defense options. This may include challenging whether the traffic stop was legal and questioning the accuracy of the field sobriety tests or breathalyzer results. Consult with an experienced attorney to understand the available strategies and potential outcomes. 

Contact a Tarrant County, TX DWI Attorney

Remember that regardless of whether this is your first DWI or you have been charged or convicted in the past of DWI, you have the right to a solid legal defense. As a result, you should consult with the skilled Fort Worth, TX DWI lawyer with The Dameron Law Firm. Call 817-222-0624 for a free consultation.

Share this post:
Back to Top