Call Today for a Free Consultation


Occupational License Tarrant County

 Posted on May 12, 2020 in Uncategorized

If your Texas license has been suspended you may be eligible for a Tarrant County Occupational License. An Occupational License is a restricted driver's license that allows you to drive for essential needs while your regular license is suspended. Essential needs include things such as school, work, or to accomplish other essential household duties. An Occupational License does not cover commercial vehicles. Below is information on the requirements to obtain an Occupational License. 

Who can apply?

Just about anyone whose license has been suspended may apply for an Occupational License. If your license is suspended by the DPS you can apply in your county of residence or county of offense. If your license is suspended by a Judge, then you must apply for the license in the court issuing the suspension. Here is a chart of suspensions by the DPS.

Basic Requirements of a Tarrant County Occupational License.

Each Court may have different requirements. Below is an overview of the requirements:

  • The Courts will require the client sign a verified Petition. The Occupational License Petition is a request for the Judge to sign the Occupational License Order. The petition should state specific reasons an individual is eligible to receive an Occupational License.
  • You will be required to keep a log book to document your essential travel.
  • You cannot drive for more than 4 hours a day. The court may waive the 4 hours for good cause and allow you to drive up to 12 hours a day.
  • If your license was suspended due to a DWI conviction, then you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle as a condition of an occupational license. If you have the interlock installed in your vehicle, then there are no travel restrictions or need for a log book.
  • If your license was suspended due to the implied consent law (ALR hearing) then you will be required to receive substance abuse counseling as a requirement of your occupational license, such as AA meetings.
  • You must have an SR-22. SR-22 is not an insurance policy but a certificate that is filed with the state by your insurance company. It is a certificate of financial responsibility that verifies you are carrying the state-mandated amount of auto insurance. If you stop carrying SR-22, your insurance company will notify the DPS and the notification may cause new problems for your driving privilege.

What do you receive from the Court?

Once the judge reviews and signs the submitted paperwork, you will receive an Occupational License Order. The Order is valid for 45 days after the document is signed by the Judge. Paperwork will then be sent to the DPS. Once the DPS receives and processes the paperwork an Occupational License will be mailed to you. We provide our clients with instruction on what to do once we receive the paperwork back from the Court.

The Dameron Law Firm has the experience to assist you in obtaining a Tarrant County Occupational License. We make the process as simple as possible and our goal is to get you back on the road! Please call our office 817-222-0624 to discuss your license status with the Texas Department of Safety.

Share this post:
Back to Top