Call Today for a Free Consultation


Recent blog posts

Can I Get an Occupational Drivers License?

Posted on in DWI

Tarrant County, TX ODL lawyerIf you have had your driver’s license suspended, revoked, or canceled, including for a DWI charge, you may be wondering how you can get your life back on track without the ability to drive. People with suspended licenses in Texas may still be able to get an occupational driver's license (ODL). However, there are some restrictions to eligibility.

It is important to note that the eligibility requirements for an ODL in Texas can change, so it is always best to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney to get the most up-to-date information.

Am I Eligible for an Occupational Driver's License?

A law that came into effect September 1st, 2023, broadens the reasons a person can get an ODL. These include the need to drive so you can:


Fort Worth drug crimes defense lawyerIn Texas, it is illegal to possess a controlled substance without a valid prescription. If you are found to be in the possession of a controlled substance without a valid prescription, you could be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor.

The penalties for drug possession in Texas can be severe, so it is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney if you are facing drug charges.

What are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Texas?

The penalties for drug possession in Texas vary depending on a few factors. The type of drug, the amount of the drug that is possessed, the person’s criminal history, and the circumstances of the arrest can all contribute to the severity of the charges and penalties. 


Fort worth drug defense attorneyWith the changing landscape of marijuana laws across the United States, it is important for marijuana users to stay informed about the specific regulations that may apply in the state where they live or when visiting other states. In Texas, the possession and use of marijuana is still illegal under state law, including tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), which is the psychoactive compound found in cannabis. Understanding the laws surrounding THC can help individuals address drug charges, and with the help of a criminal defense attorney, they can determine the steps they can take to minimize the potential legal consequences they may face.

Marijuana Possession Charges in Texas

In Texas, the recreational use of marijuana is prohibited by law. Possessing any amount of marijuana can result in criminal charges. The specific charges may range from a misdemeanor to a felony offense depending on the quantity involved. 

Under the Texas Controlled Substances Act, possession of two or fewer ounces of marijuana plants is classified as a Class B misdemeanor with potential penalties of up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of more than two ounces but less than four ounces escalates the offense to a Class A misdemeanor with possible imprisonment for up to one year and/or fines reaching $4,000.


download.jpgAt The Dameron Law Firm, we strive to provide the best possible representation for clients in criminal defense cases. Attorney Craig Dameron works to protect the rights of defendants and help them resolve their cases successfully, and he has been recognized for the quality of the legal services he provides. Recently, 360 West magazine named Craig Dameron as one of the top criminal defense attorneys for 2023 in the Fort Worth area. 

360 West is a lifestyle magazine that serves people in the Tarrant County area and residents of North Texas who live to the west of Highway 360. Every year, the magazine compiles a list of the top attorneys in the region who can provide high-quality legal help and representation in various practice areas. Attorneys are selected through a peer-voting process, and inclusion on the list demonstrates that a lawyer is respected by others in the legal community. 

Reasons Why Craig Dameron Is a Top Criminal Defense Attorney

Mr. Dameron has multiple decades of experience in criminal law, and he has successfully represented clients in numerous types of cases, including:


Untitled-45.jpgPeople in the state of Texas value their Second Amendment rights, and many residents own and carry firearms. However, even though Texas has fewer firearm restrictions than many other states, there are still some laws in place that limit where guns can be carried and prevent certain people from possessing or carrying dangerous weapons. For gun owners in Texas, it is important to understand the laws regarding the carrying of weapons and the potential criminal charges that may apply when a person is accused of violating these laws. Weapons violations may include:

Unlawful Carrying of a Weapon

In Texas, it is illegal to carry handguns in public unless certain requirements are met. A handgun can only be carried in public in plain view of others if it is kept in a holster. A person can carry a handgun in a vehicle if it is kept out of plain view, although if they have a valid handgun license, they may carry a handgun in a holster. Handguns can also generally be carried while a person is on their own property, on someone else’s property with the consent of the owner, or en route to a vehicle or boat. 

People who violate these requirements may face criminal charges. Carrying a handgun in public is also prohibited for people who are intoxicated and people who are engaging in criminal activity other than class C misdemeanors or traffic violations. These violations may result in Class A m isdemeanor charges, and a conviction could lead to a sentence of up to one year in jail and a maximum $4,000 fine.

Back to Top