Call Today for a Free Consultation


Recent blog posts

Untitled-8.jpgThere are multiple types of drugs that are classified as controlled substances, and there are numerous reasons why people in Texas may face drug charges related to the possession or distribution of these substances. In recent years, many drug offenses have been related to methamphetamines, which are regarded as some of the most dangerous and addictive types of drugs. Because of these concerns, those who are accused of possessing, selling, distributing, or manufacturing methamphetamines may face severe penalties if they are convicted. If you have been accused of drug offenses related to meth, an experienced criminal defense attorney can advise you of your options and help you determine how to minimize the potential penalties you may face.

Methamphetamine Offenses in Texas

The Texas Controlled Substances Act classifies methamphetamines in Penalty Group 1. This categorization places meth among the most dangerous and harmful types of illegal drugs. The specific offenses related to methamphetamines may include:

  • Possession of methamphetamines - Because methamphetamines are considered to be so dangerous, possession of any amount of these drugs can carry severe criminal penalties. The charges and penalties vary based on the quantity of methamphetamines. Possession of less than one gram is a state jail felony, and a conviction carries a minimum sentence of six months and a maximum sentence of two years. Possession of one to four grams is a third degree felony with a sentence of two to 10 years, while possession of four to 200 grams is a second degree felony with a sentence of two to 20 years.


Fort Worth Criminal LawyerDrunk driving is a serious crime, but the specific penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) can vary depending on the circumstances of a case. Some of the most serious cases will involve accidents that caused harm to others. If a person is charged with DWI in a situation where they allegedly caused an accident that resulted in someone's serious injury or death, they may face charges of intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter. Felony charges will usually apply in these situations, and a conviction can result in a prison sentence of multiple years and up to $10,000 in fines, as well as other consequences that can affect a person for the rest of their life. By understanding the specific charges involved in these cases and working with a criminal defense attorney, those who are arrested for DWI can determine how to respond against the charges and how to defend against a conviction.

Intoxication Assault

A drunk driving accident can result in a variety of different types of injuries. These can range from minor injuries such as cuts and bruises to severe injuries that may result in permanent disabilities. In cases where a person caused an accident due to intoxication by alcohol or drugs, and someone else suffered serious bodily harm in the collision, they may be charged with intoxication assault.

Texas law defines serious bodily injuries as forms of bodily harm that put someone at risk of being killed, such as severe lacerations that led to significant blood loss. Injuries that led to permanent disabilities or impairments, such as spinal cord injuries in which a person suffered paralysis, will also be considered serious bodily harm. Finally, any injuries that resulted in permanent disfigurement, such as the amputation of a limb, will qualify as serious bodily injuries that may lead to charges of intoxication assault.


Fort Worth Violent Crimes LawyerTerrorism is a significant concern in the United States, and law enforcement officials need to be able to respond promptly to any threats to public safety. However, people may not realize that the offense of "terroristic threat" that may apply in certain types of criminal cases in Texas is not limited to acts of terrorism. This offense may be charged in multiple situations where a person makes threats against someone else or acts in a disruptive manner. By understanding the situations where these charges may apply, those who have been accused of these crimes can determine their options for defense.

Terroristic Threat vs. Assault

In some cases, the charge of terroristic threat may apply in situations that people often associate with assault. Under Texas law, assault charges involve the intentional infliction of injuries, but terroristic threat charges may involve threats to commit violence that cause a person to fear that they are in imminent danger of suffering a serious bodily injury. The minimum charge for this offense is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum sentence of six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. If terroristic threats are made against a family member or constitute family violence, a person may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, and if they are convicted, they may be sentenced to up to one year in jail and fined up to $4,000. Class A misdemeanor charges will also apply if terroristic threats are made against a public servant, and threats against a police officer or judge may result in state jail felony charges. A conviction for a state jail felony may result in a six-month to two-year jail sentence and a maximum $10,000 fine.

Terroristic threat charges may also apply in other situations where a person is accused of threatening to commit violence against one or more people or threatening to destroy property. The specific charges include:


Fort Worth Property Crimes LawyerThe general category of property crimes includes offenses that involve damaging, tampering with, or stealing another person's property. While theft is one of the most common property crimes, there are other related crimes that may be charged in addition to or instead of theft. It is important for criminal defendants who have been accused of property crimes to understand the Texas laws that may apply to them, including the specific offenses they are being charged with and the potential penalties of a conviction. If you are in this situation, a criminal defense attorney can help you understand your options and provide effective representation as you defend against property crime charges.

Offenses Against Property in Texas

While many property crimes will involve stealing property or otherwise depriving the owner of the right to own and possess property that is rightfully theirs, some offenses may involve damage to property or entering property illegally. Some common charges that may apply in these situations include:

  • Trespassing - This offense, which is referred to as "criminal trespass" in Texas, involves entering or remaining on another person's property without their consent. Trespassing may take place on private or commercial property, agricultural land, in buildings, or in airplanes or other vehicles. If a person received notice that they were not allowed to enter a property (such as a "no trespassing" sign), or if they were asked to leave a property but refused to do so, they may face criminal charges. In most cases, criminal trespass is charged as a Class B misdemeanor, and a conviction may result in a sentence of up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.


Fort Worth Criminal Defense LawyerTexas has strict laws when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Underage drinking is a serious issue in Texas and many other states, and a number of accidents, injuries, and deaths occur every year when minors or others attempt to drive while they are intoxicated. Because of this, Texas law enforcement is cracking down on underage drinking, enforcing strict laws and imposing severe penalties on minors who drink and drive. For those who are under the age of 21, it is important to understand the potential penalties of a DUI or DWI arrest.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor

In Texas, as in many other states, the Driving While Intoxicated legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent. However, for minors, Texas has a zero-tolerance policy regarding drinking and driving. This means that a driver who is under the age of 21 and is found to have any trace of alcohol in their system can be charged with DUI.  An adult can be charged only with DWI, but a minor could be charged with DUI or DWI, depending on the level of intoxication.

For minors who are under the age of 17, a DUI is charged as a Class C misdemeanor. A driver who is convicted of this offense may be fined up to $500, and they may be required to perform between 20 and 40 hours of community service. Their driver's license will also be suspended for between 60 and 180 days. For a second offense, a driver may face a $500 fine, 40 to 60 hours of community service, and a license suspension for between 120 days and two years. A third offense will result in the same penalties as a second offense, although the license suspension may last from 180 days to two years. 

Back to Top